Esperanza election

First Esperanza Advisory Committee election concludes

Esperanza, the WikiProject dedicated to spreading Wikilove, completed the election for the group's Advisory Committee earlier this month, marking the first such election since the establishment of the group in August 2005.

Only four out of the 15 candidates running were selected for the Committee, with the top two vote getters, Flcelloguy and Acetic Acid winning seats until the end of February 2006 in Tranche A, and the third and fourth place winners, Ryan Norton and Bratsche receiving seats until the end of this year in Tranche B. The four will join Administrator General Essjay as the guiding force towards determining the group's direction.

Flcelloguy, Acetic Acid and Ryan Norton all got out to early leads which they would not relinquish, with Flcelloguy and Acetic Acid pulling out ahead of Ryan Norton after October 8th, leaving the only suspense occuring with multiple ties throughout the election for the fourth and final slot.

The election turnout was mixed, as several users came back to change their vote slates as the election progressed, despite voting from only 31 of 75 eligible voters (41.3%) from the Esperanza Electorate under the election's rules.

The election also provided some minor controversies, such as votes for Acetic Acid being discarded due to early vote turnout.

+ Add a comment

Discuss this story

To follow comments, add the page to your watchlist. If your comment has not appeared here, you can try purging the cache.
No comments yet. Yours could be the first!


The Signpost · written by many · served by Sinepost V0.9 · 🄯 CC-BY-SA 4.0